Running my 2nd Marathon!

As many of you know, I ran my first marathon in May. While it was challenging at times, my experience was ultimately a positive one and I learned so much about myself, the running world and what it takes to run long distance. After contemplating marathon running for the past 2 months, I decided to dive back in and run a 2nd one! I know; I’m crazy, right? I’m either a glutton for punishment or my father’s daughter. I choose the latter.

I will be running the California International Marathon in December, which is fairly local to me. I am excited that my friends and family will be able to attend and I am grateful to have more course support the 2nd time around. My poor husband had to drive to meet me at mile 14 in Cincinnati for my first marathon and then fight the crowds and traffic to get back to the finish line to see me complete the run. This time I will have other people willing to meet me at various spots and cheer me on throughout the course and I hope that will help me get through some of the tougher miles.

The California International Marathon is a flat, fast, net downhill course; a Boston qualifier and is celebrating its 35th anniversary this year. It is sure to be a fun event and I think that running a local marathon will also give me a bit more of an advantage than my first one in terms of travel. I will be able to sleep in my own bed the night before and be well rested. I will also be able to eat the food I want without having to Yelp specific restaurants or beg the Starbucks in the hotel lobby to open early.

My goal this time around is to finish under 4 hours 30 minutes. While I know it is a bigger challenge and I am asking my body to knock off almost 30 minutes of running time, I know I can do it if I train harder and push myself more. I know what to expect this time around and I think that will give me the mental advantage that I didn’t have for the first marathon. I have maintained an intermediate level of mileage since my marathon and am still running 3-4 days each week with 1 long run on the weekends of 6-8 miles.

I am looking forward to this challenge and my goal is to keep up with the blog more so you can track my progress along with me! Be sure to subscribe as I have a lot of fun product reviews coming up that are sure to peak your interests. Happy Running!

1

4 thoughts on “Running my 2nd Marathon!

Leave a Reply

