Finding your YES

Have you ever thought about an upcoming run and had a feeling of dread? Or  you’re on a training schedule and you’re supposed to go to the gym that day but you’re looking for a way out? You may be too tired, you may be too sore, you may just be cranky and don’t want to deal with crowds of people staring at you in your sweaty gym clothes. For whatever reason, you just aren’t feeling it.

Well, I’m not here to tell you it’s ok to skip it, but I am here to tell you that you’re not alone. I have these days too. We all do. Now that I’m in the second half of my marathon training and my short runs are over an hour long, I’m finding there isn’t a whole lot of time left in the day for me to relax. Between working a full-time accountant job, attending online college classes, being a wife and a dog mom; add a gym workout or run to my day and it’s already 10pm!

Finding a way to push through the negative thoughts and the excuses is where your mental strength comes into play. You need to find your YES. Why do you workout? Why do you run? What does it do for YOU? You need to understand that you deserve to take the time to take care of yourself. Because none of the other daily responsibilities will be beneficial if you are not on tope of your game.

I can tell you that I run 4 days per week and in 11 weeks I have not missed a single run. And I have have a handful of days where I just didn’t want to do it. I wanted to put my pjs on at 6pm and watch Real Housewives until bedtime. But when I got home each time I forced myself to head straight to my closet and pull out my sneakers and throw my hair in a ponytail because this marathon is not going to run itself. Each time I did this, by the end of my run or workout, I had completely forgotten that I didn’t want to go in the first place.

Sometimes your mind plays tricks on you. And if you’re like me, you can talk yourself out of anything. You will find reason after reason why you don’t need to go for that run. The trick is to find the reason why you do. And tell yourself YES. Yes you will go workout, yes you will take those shoes out for a run. Or, just get a dog. Because if my dog doesn’t get his daily run, you bet he will let you know about it! Heck, you can come borrow mine so I can take a day off! 😉

Leave a Reply

